The Federal Government ahs announced the appointment of David Papps as the new Commonwealth Environmental Water Holder.


Currently the Director-General of the ACT Environmental and Sustinable Development Directorate, Mr Papps has been selected for the role for his extensive experience in natural resource management and sustainability.


“As the CEWH he will head an office charged with the responsibility of rejuvenating wetlands and rivers in the Murray-Darling Basin following the release of the final Basin Plan which is set to recover and return water to enhance the resilience of environmental assets such as the Lower Lakes and Coorong, Macquarie Marshes, Hattah Lakes, and Yanga National Park,” Federal Minister for the Environment Tony Burke said.


Mr Papps has previously held the position of Chief Executive ACT Department of Environment, Climate Change, Energy and Water, as well as senior positions in the Victorian Department of Sustainability and Environment, the NSW Department of Land and Water Conservation, and the National Parks and Wildlife Service.


Mr Papps will commence his role before Christmas.